Board Members

Carmen Lebron – New President

Carmen served as a secretary for IAHSE. She is a Public Service Administrator for DHS in the division of FCS Region 1 North. She’s been with the state for over 28 years. She has played a vital role in IAHSE’s administration process, and has expanded the association’s network and partnership. She attended Northeastern Illinois University with a B.A in Speech and Communications in 1990 and a M.B.A. from Benedictine University in 2010.

Alex-Medina – Former President

Alex represented 15 board members and oversees 400 general members to accomplish our mission and goes beyond in making sure that the state of Illinois is fair and equitable in the hiring and promotion of Hispanic state employees across the board in over 30 state agencies. Alex thrived in creating an atmosphere built around human and divine values which promote safety, trust, faith to dream and courage to overcome obstacles and barriers often impeding the advancement of our vision.

Mitsi Gallardo – Vice President

Mitsi Gallardo is currently an Administrative Assistant I with the Illinois Department of Public Health.  She has an associates degree in biology from Triton College and a bachelors in biology from North Park University.  She is pursuing her M.A. as a Rehab Counselor at Northeastern Illinois University. She has served on the Board of Directors for IAHSE since 2019 and as the Treasurer since January 2020.

Edith Feliciano – Treasurer

Edith is an active board member. She was a former Human Resource Specialist for Illinois Department of Human Services.

Evelyn Nazario-Rose -Secretary

Evelyn is an active board member. Currently employed with Department of Human Services.

Alma Hernandez

Is an Executive I with Illinois Department on Aging. She graduated in 2005 and received a B.A. in Criminal Justice from Northeastern Illinois University and a M.A. in Public Administration from DePaul University in 2016. She became a board member in 2019 and is the Chair Person of the Resources Development and Public Information Committee.

Connie Mariscal Garcia

Connie is an active board member. She is currently employed with Illinois Department Human Services

Carlos Charneco

Carlos is a retired state employee with 38 year of service including 32 years at the Dept. of Employment Security, four years at Central Management Services and two years at the Dept. of Commerce & Economic Opportunity.   He held a number of state jobs including Equal Opportunity Officer, Manager of Diversity Enrichment, and Local Office manager. He served as a former president for IAHSE and has been an advocate for Hispanic state employees throughout his career.

Josue Barba

Born in Guantanamo, Cuba and raised in Hialeah, Florida. Went on to Florida State University, where he received a Bachelor of Science in Economics and a Bachelor of Science in Political Science. He moved to Chicago to attend UIC John Marshall Law School, and then relocated to Springfield to join the Office of the Illinois Attorney General. Today, he’s a Legal Counsel for the Illinois Department of Innovation and Technology. Josue serves as the Chair Person of the Legislative Committee.

Suzanne Lucio

 Suzanne is a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor at the Wrightwood VR DRS-DHS Office for the State of Illinois. She lives by the Midway Airport area of Chicago, with her husband and two awesome children. She’s a busy wife, mother and rehab counselor, She’s the lead singer in a rock cover band! She received a Bachelors Degree from
Chicago State University in 2014, Chicago,
Major; Sociology Minor, Social Work. She also obtained a Masters Degree in Rehabilitation Counseling from Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago, IL Class of 2019,

See attachment below as is provides the rules and principles enacted by board members to show the association’s governing structure.


%d bloggers like this: